Healthy body, healthy mind?

I am writing this (ironically) following a slightly weak moment involving a chocolate caterpillar cake… All I can say is that he has shrunk by about three quarters, oops! 

Moreover, I wanted to post about the impact of physical fitness on mental health, predominantly involving my personal experiences (failures). At present, I try to keep up with a simple gym routine involving cardio: walking the dog or jogging, a simple ab routine: extracts from Kayla Itsines’ BBG and lifting weights: self explanatory really. All of which I can do at home, without the need for the dreaded gym!

However, considering that I am a human being, food is my comfort, my support and pretty much the only thing that keeps me going on lower days. Therefore, I struggle with this aspect of keeping healthy. We have all been there, desperate for a quick fix in the name of a Mars chocolate bar or a family pack of Sweet Chili Sensations, but is it really a “fix”? In my opinion, no.

Immediately after consuming these types of foods, I feel bloated, sick, insecure. But, the worst of all, desperate to gobble up even more and further upset my body. No matter how much temporary happiness these snacks are able to bring you in that one moment, it can never be worth the sickness due to processed ingredients, the tiredness as your body is not recieving the right nutrients and the fat build up and weight gain.

Now, I’m not saying that you must completely cut out these foods because even I just confessed to, quite impressively, polishing off most of a cake! However, I am saying that you should keep an eye on your calorie intake, the ingredients list and try to eat as many unprocessed things as you can. You will feel better for it!

For instance, here is what I, an average person without a structured meal plan or strict gym routine, would eat in a day:

  • Breakfast: Porridge mixed with vanilla protein powder or honey 
  • Snack 1: A piece of fruit (usually an apple)
  • Lunch: Always eggs! 2 scrambled on toast with side salad (lettuce, olives, avocado, cucumber, sweet corn) 
  • Dinner: Fish with vegetables (sweet potato, broccoli, carrots ect) 
  • Snack 2: Protein bar or a treat (small portion of crisps or a few squares of high percentage dark chocolate) 

Obviously, I do vary my diet so it doesn’t get boring, but I love it! It makes me feel positive, full of energy and brilliant about my body! I do slip up every now and then, but that’s ok, it is to be expected. 

I hope this post helps, in terms of eating, from my experience, a healthy body = a healthy mind!

Leave a Reply

